Singapore Lah!

Welcome to Singapore — a country that eats 24/7!  Or at least that is what I did there.  I like to choose travel destinations as if I am choosing a dining destination.  Do I want Greek food?  Yes please, see you in Mykonos!  I really am craving paella… okay, Barcelona it is!  Slight exaggeration… but I admit my study abroad in Japan most definitely resulted from my love for sushi and all nihonryori (Japanese cuisine).

Singapore may be a small island city-state-country, but much of it, in my opinion, is appropriately dedicated to feeding its inhabitants at any time of the day.  With hawker centres, eating houses, food courts, market stalls, and regular restaurants — this place is all about the food.   Best of all, the delicious local foods are so inexpensive!  Within the first 8 hours of landing in Singapore, I had already eaten 3 full meals.  That is how you start a vacation right!

When I wasn’t eating, I was hanging out at nickeldime, which was the coolest bar ever in Singapore at the time.  I had two entrepreneurial friends from high school developing a new bar venture in Singapore, and I was invited to check it out and possibly get involved.  Nickeldime was a sake and whiskey bottle shop and tasting room located in Bukit Timah in central Singapore, just a 15 minute drive north of downtown.  The bar is closed now, and this entrepreneurial friend is now involved in his newest restaurant venture on Fullerton Road: Boathouse.

I spent about 1.5 weeks in Singapore, plus the couple days of flying time through Tokyo.  The majority of my time was spent eating, hanging out at nickeldime, cruising around the millions of malls, rolling VIP to all the clubs, and partaking in some beer festivities at the Asia beerfest.  Of course, I also got in some touristy time.  On my return journey to NYC, I had a day layover in Tokyo and hung out with my “little brother” from college that lived and worked there.

Days 1-2: In Singapore, fast food is gourmet
Newton hawker centre, Adam Road hawker centre, Orchard Road, late night eating at McDonald’s, Boat Quay

Day 3: Even in Asia, there’s always a Chinatown
Maxwell Hawker centre, Chinatown, Clarke Quay, Little India, cooking at nickeldime, partying at Butter Factory, late night eating at Newton hawker centre

Day 4: Tropical means humidity
Botanic Gardens, dinner at Raw Kitchen Bar

Day 5: Chili Crab
Eating Singapore’s famous chili crab, shopping at Mustafa, chilling at nickeldime

Day 6: Time to be a tourist
CBD, Merlion, Asian Civilisations Museum, Peranakan Museum

Day 7: Mambo Night
Mambo Jambo at Zouk, Karaoke in Clarke Quay

Day 8: Sentosa
Vivocity, Sentosa Island, Merlion

Day 9: Beerfest Asia 2009
Bugis Street, Singapore Flyer, Beerfest Asia 2009

Day 10: Last day to eat in Singapore
More eating on the East Coast, Katong laksa, kueh, East Coast Park

Day 11: Tokyo in 12 hours
Tsukiji Fish Market, Roppongi

Leave a Reply

