Lima’s Magic Water Circuit

image

After sandboarding in Huacachina, I took the 4 hour bus back to Lima to conclude the Peru leg of my trip.  At the beginning of my trip, I had already done a decent amount of touristy stuff in Lima (see main post here).

I only had one night left and I knew exactly what I wanted to see– the Magic Water fountains.  It sounds prettier in Spanish and much less cheesy – Circuito Mágico del Agua – but however you call it, these fountains are pretty spectacular to see. Situated in Lima’s Parque de Reserva, El Circuito Mágico del Agua is a series of 13 uniquely beautiful water fountains.

image

The park is open from 4pm to 10pm, and it is best to go after dark when the fountains are lit up in brilliant and changing colors. On the weekends, there are light shows with music and theater for some good ole’ family entertainment.

It felt like all the fountains were dancing for us and inviting us to play. There was one interactive fountain you can run to the center of as you try to dodge the maze of water jets coming from the ground.

image

My friend Hans thought he had figured out the pattern for safe, dry passage… but a good soaking later, he realized that was not the case!

image

My favorite fountain used the water streams to form a tunnel that you could walk under. For those Modern Family show fans, it was like what Cameron was attempting for his house’s “wow factor.”

image

It *was* a magical experience and I was glad I got to see the fountains on my last night in Peru.

Next up… Brazil!

Return to the Peru Main Menu

Leave a Reply

